A short note on… hot liquids.

Sometimes i notice things that make me think something upstairs has become dislodged…

Spread

Like for example, I was sitting in our kitchen yesterday, staring blankly at the TV while having my cuppa and I noticed this very strange bottle. The only reason I noticed it was because i Knew the bottle!I have a fascination with packaging so when the design community on this small island of mine (Malta) which are known for less then mediocre design, come up with something, I collect it.

The design in question was a full bottle wrap for the Maltese signature drink “Kinnie Zest”. Now i remember all aspects of the original bottle and that’s why i was rather shocked when i saw that the bottle had shrunk, but not in a deformed obvious way, but in a perfectly appealing i-totally-meant-for-it-to-look-this-way way.

Original bottle on the right, mum's version on the left

Original bottle on the right, mum's version on the left

At first i thought my memory was simply playing up again, but this morning i found the culprit behind my confusion. Mum had poured hot coffee in the bottle causing it to shrink in both height and circumference! Now thank god i have an original, but i have to say I love mum’s version more 🙂

The new bottle has shrunk all around

The new bottle has shrunk all around

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

